Summer Free Pattern!

I like crocheting things for babies. Everything looks so tiny and adorable!
I usually make crochet baby booties as gifts for my pregnant friends, but what to make when they are Summer babies?

Crochet baby booties by The Knitting Scientist

Crochet baby booties by The Knitting Scientist

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to adapt a pattern for Mary Jane shoes that I had seen for a doll and make it in baby size. They are perfect for Spring or Summer and so quick and easy to make that you can make a pair each different colour to match all your baby’s outfits, or make it as a gift for a friend expecting.

So here’s a freebie by The Knitting Scientist!

 

Mary Jane Baby Shoes Free Crochet Pattern

crochet baby mary jane shoes

Materials:

Acrylic baby yarn (double knitting weight; around 25 g of main colour and scraps of contrasting colour)
4 – 4.5 mm crochet hook

Makes size up to 6/9 months

Abbreviations (US terms):
ch – chain
dc – double crochet
ss – slip stitch
dc2tog – double crochet 2 stitches together (decrease)
dc3tog – double crochet 3 together (decrease)
sc – single crochet

SOLE

Ch 12

Rnd1: 2dc in 3rd ch from hook, 2dc in next ch, dc in next 6, 2dc in next, 6dc in last, 2dc in next (working on other side), dc in next 6, 2dc in next, 3dc in last, ss to top of chain 12.

Rnd2: 3ch, 1dc in same, 2dc in next 2, dc in next 9, 2dc in next 6, dc in next 10, 2dc in next 3, ss on top of chain 3.

SIDES & TOP

Rnd3: ch3, dc around in back loops only, ss on top of ch3.

Rnd4: Ch3, dc in next 11, dc2tog x3, dc3tog x2, dc2tog x3, dc to end, ss on top of ch3.

Rnd5: ch1, sc in next 11, dc2tog x4, sc to end, ss on top of ch3.

Rnd6: ch1, sc in next 9, ch6, skip 8, ss to next, sc to end, ss on ch1.

Rnd7: ch1, sc around, ss on ch1.

PICOT EDGE

Join white in the remaining loops of Rnd3, at the back. Picot edge all around: [ch3, skip one stitch, ss in next] repeat all around, join at the back with a ss.
Do the same around all other edges.

Now show off your finished work or share the pattern with all your crafty friends!

crochet baby mary janes

I would love to have your feedback in the comments section bellow!

 

Copyrights: you may distribute this pattern freely among your friends, you can translate it in your own language, you can use it as material for crafts lessons or crochet groups and you can also sell the finished items. You MAYย NOT sell this pattern or a similar pattern with minor alterations that can be considered corrections. ย Please credit The Knitting Scientist with a link to this blog. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

19 comments

  1. Mary

    These are darling! Our Prayer Shawl Ministry ladies, at Church, are making baby items for area hospitals. Thank you for sharing and God Bless. (I am new to your group today!)

    Like

  2. Hi Mary! Thank you for dropping by and taking the time to leave a comment, it is greatly appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel blessed knowing that somehow I contributed for your charity. Keep crocheting! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Mamax3

    Does anyone have a pattern of these for a 6-9 or 12 mth old – would love to have them as little slippers

    Like

    • Hey there! The pattern makes a pair of little shoes to fit a 6 to 9 months old baby. To make it bigger, try using a thicker yarn and a bigger hook. Hope this helps! Would love to see your little slippers! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Pingback: New Year, New Pattern! (and it’s free!) | The Knitting Scientist

  5. Very cute. Am going to try making them .

    Like

  6. Grazia Mingoia

    Voglio la traduzione in italiano grazie

    Like

  7. Cinthia Matjazic

    How cute! I call them my baby girls party shoes.

    Like

  8. helene

    Hello there! I write you from Belgium (sorry for my basic english)
    I love create with some wool and a lot of love โค
    Thanks for your sharings… It helps a lot!
    When my blog open, I will show you the result… I keep you in my head and my heart ๐Ÿ™‚
    Friendly
    Hรฉlรจne

    Like

  9. Loretta

    Beautiful thank you for letting us share x

    Like

  10. June

    Your instructions for the opening on the front is not complete. Row six . Please send me corrected instructions. Thanks.

    Like

  11. June

    Hi! the shoes turned out very cute but after several attempts I needed to correct a few mistakes in the instructions.
    Please note: Round 2: ch3, 1 dc in same, 2 dc in next 2, dc in next 9, 2 dc in the next 7, dc in next 10, 2 dc
    in next 3, ss on top of ch3.
    Round 5: ch3, dc in next 11, dc2tog x6, dc to end, ss on top of ch3.
    Round 6: ch1, sc in next 9, chain 6, skip 10, ss to next, sc to end , ss on ch1.
    Round 7: ch1, sc around to front buckle, sc in the 6 ch from round6, continue sc to heel, ss on ch1.
    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

