Happy New Year!

The Knitting Scientist wishes you all a very merry new year, full of yarny, fluffy, cuddly things!

The Knitting Scientist wishes you all a very merry new year, full of yarny, fluffy, cuddly things!

I know we’re midway through January but it’s never too late to say it!

New Year’s a time of renovation. Just like a snake changes its skin every now and then, each year we are granted the opportunity to start all over again. It is also a time for introspection and reflection. We think about the year that is about to end, what we conquered and what we did not achieve, and face the new year with a renovated hope, setting up new goals for our lives.

My year of 2014 was an awesome one. So many things happened that changed my life! I moved home to an adorable studio close to one of the biggest parks in Sydney. My contract was renewed for another two years (I hope that means I’ve been doing a good job!…). I finally came up with a good name and re-branded my hobby/small business to something that I totally identify myself with (The Knitting Scientist, yours truly), that is catchy and allows me the freedom to do everything I love and want to share – from science to crafts and everything in between. I went back to the country where I was born to visit my parents (I didn’t realise how much I missed them….). And last but certainly not least, I found someone very special with whom to share my life. It was indeed a great year!

Ravelry tells me that I have knitted/crocheted more than 9 km of yarn in 2014! I made scarves, beanies, booties, tops and dresses, for people and for pets, using the common acrylic or the sophisticated hand dyed silk or alpaca, to give away, for myself and I even sold a few things! How awesome is that?! And I also came up with a detailed pattern for one of my beautiful scarves that I will make available soon (more news on that later on! I’m so excited!!!). I feel a very accomplished crafter right now!

So after putting the old year in retrospective, it is now time for the so-cliche new year’s resolutions. To be honest, I haven’t had time to think too deeply about this… Maybe this year I’ll just go with the flow… How about you, what are your new year’s resolutions?

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

One comment

  1. It was quite a great year!!! Good for you 🙂

    For this year I made my usual list of wishes. But this time, I decided to make of list of goals to achieve. I made them very objective and achieveable, and decided to act on them as quickly as possible. I have already crossed two 😉

    It is great when you try to set doable goals and then see that it so much easier to acomplish things 😉

    Have a wonderful 2015 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

