Honoring the Year of the Sheep!

According to the Chinese lunar calendar, 2015 is the year of the sheep, goat, ram and the woolly mammoth (I wonder if alpacas are included…). It is, of course, a very inspiring year for all the fiber crafters.

It’s been 10 years since I have become a yarn addict crocheteer. It all started in 2005, when my mom taught me my first stitches. I am now interested in the whole upstream process of yarn production – shearing, combing, spinning and dying (preferably with natural pigments). I would also consider raising a couple of these woolly beasts but unfortunately at the moment that can only be plans for the future…

So when the City of Sydney decided to celebrate this new year with free fiber crafts classes BAM there I was! I attended a beginners class for hand spinning with the lovely Verity Heath, who very calmly and patiently introduced us to the wonderful world of hand spinning and gave us some inside tips. This and a couple of alpacas and civilization will never see me again!

My first hand spun wool!

My first hand spun wool!

Having been introduced into this brave new world, I made some delightful discoveries, like Ashford’s wheels and looms. They have spinning wheels, spindles, amazing fibres and a long time family tradition, how can you not fall in love? I have, of course, made my order of a student spindle and a set of wool in 7 different colours and I can’t wait to start! I will keep you updated on my progress! Meanwhile, a big Ravelry queue is waiting for me so I’d better get back to it!

Do you have experience in yarn production? I would love to hear from you!

PS – My crochet earrings giveaway will be ending this weekend!!! There is still time to enter. Just leave your comment on this picture (https://www.facebook.com/theknittingscientist/photos/a.358665590977623.1073741828.349669931877189/390020914508757/?type=1&theater) and be sure to like The Knitting Scientist Facebook page to be eligible. See you there! 😉

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

Leave a Reply

