On my needles…

On my needles is growing a variegated blue angora/acrylic beanie. I am following the Sockhead Hat pattern that I found on Ravelry and I have been finding it most delightful!

I am not a very experienced knitter. Well, at least not as much as in crochet. But this hat works up so wonderfully quick and the pattern is so easy to follow that I thought I might make it the “family beanie” and make one for each boy in the family.

Variegated blue angora acrylic knitted beanie, work in progress by The Knitting Scientist

Variegated blue angora acrylic knitted beanie, work in progress by The Knitting Scientist

The yarn is Angora Gold Batik from Ice Yarns, an amazingly soft 45% angora blend in beautiful long print white and navy blue shades. I fell in love with this yarn the moment I saw it – I would buy all the tones if I could – and it’s very decently priced too… Be careful when going to their website, it’s very bad for your w(allet)(h)ealth!

I started working the beanie with my interchangeable KnitPro symphonie circular needles. The pattern asks for a 3.0mm but because I have a tendency for tight stitches and I didn’t have this size, I decided to go for a 3.5mm. I immediately realised two things: that 3.5mm was clearly too big (and so my knitting is not as tight as I thought) and that I cannot work my way around the magic loop (I’ll get there one day, eventually!…).

So this gave me the perfect opportunity to use my beloved KnitPro cubics dpns! It’s funny how daunting knitting with 4 needles can seem and how easy it actually is! I grabbed my 3.5mm/20cm dpns, but with only 25 stitches on each needle, I soon changed to a 15cm length (yes, I do have a fair collection of cubic dpns…). It’s been working like a wonder! I love seeing the work growing each day. I have been knitting in all my commutes and I actually look forward for that special introspective moment of my day. It’s a good change from the crochet too. I feel that I often need to change yarn, colour and type of project if I don’t want to loose my knitting modjo.

I think I will stick with knitting for a while after this beanie, although I still haven’t decided what to make next. I have a project to write a knitting pattern to wip up this scarf, maybe I’ll work on that… What do you think?

Double knitted cowl by The Knitting Scientist (former L'Ana Banana Crafts)

Double knitted cowl by The Knitting Scientist (former L’Ana Banana Crafts)

And speaking of patterns, I have been working on a pattern for this gorgeous crochet scarf that I will soon make available on the ‘interwebz’. So stay tuned! 😉

Ruffled layered crochet scarf by The Knitting Scientist, pattern available soon!

Ruffled layered crochet scarf by The Knitting Scientist (former AEHandCrafts), pattern available soon!

PS-> Downton Abbey is back!!! Woohoo!!! More on that in a post to follow!

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

3 comments

  1. I never worked with angora thread… some day I will

    Love the colors 🙂

    Your needle stash is far bigger than mine

    Like

  2. Pingback: What should I name this post?… A little bit of everything! | The Knitting Scientist

Leave a Reply

