What should I name this post?… A little bit of everything!

Yesterday I finished the beanie I’ve been working on and it caught me a bit by surprise because I wasn’t expecting to finish it so quickly! I felt a little bit lost… I had not quite thought what to make next.

Behold! The family beanie!

Behold! The family beanie!

I do have a work in progress, a crochet chevron scarf to match my alpaca dress, but I’m not feeling like going back to crochet… I want to keep knitting for the time being, I’m enjoying it so much! I will make two other beanies for the boys in the family, but not straight away.

Today I didn’t have anything to knit on my commute 😦 So I took the time to search my two favourite sources of crafty inspiration: Ravelry and Pinterest. I found (among many other beautiful and tempting things) this really nice top that doesn’t look too difficult. In my stash I have 6 amazing skeins of Malabrigo sock yarn that I bought in Tricot das Cinco on my last trip to Portugal. For some reason that I still have to figure out, it’s very difficult to find Malabrigo yarn around Sydney. So I decided to use my Tiziano Red yarn to wip up this top.

My very sophisticated skein hand wind equipment

My highly sophisticated skein hand winding equipment

I have started to wind up my first skein of Malabrigo and I am so excited!!! This is such  an amazing  yarn!!! So rich in colour, so bright, almost sparkling… I am so in love!  Because this yarn  is a different weight from what is used in the pattern, I will have to  make a swatch,  measure up my stitches and adapt the pattern. Lets see how this goes…

Since I have 3 of these skeins, I might also make a matching scarf and a hat. This Lucy  Hat is just perfect and I must confess I have been eyeing it for quite some time now. As  a contrasting colour I ordered a hand dyed merino sock yarn in a rich graphite tone  from Skein Yarn. And because you can never buy just one skein (the poor thing would  feel lonely on the way here…), to go with it I bought a nice 100% superwash merino  yarn in the exquisite warm tones of Equinox. I plan on using this one to make a pair of  fingerless mittens that have been on my queue for far too long.

And that’s it, I have a lot of work ahead, better get to it!!!

PS – The last few days I have been more engaged within the amazing community of crafty bloggers. I have found amazing, creative and talented people with so much to give to the world. To all the fellow crafters throughout the whole wide blogosphere with whom I have exchanged comments and likes or that just brought a smile to my face with their posts and pictures, I would like to leave a word of appreciation. You are all very inspiring human beings!

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

One comment

  1. It’s funny… for the time being I am also more into knitting than crocheting…

    Like

Leave a Reply

