Great women like us

“Behind a great man there’s a great woman”

I heard this saying last weekend in a family gathering. And I ask myself why does the woman have to be behind the man? Why can’t she be beside her great man? Or even – just had this crazy thought – why can’t this great woman have a great man behind her?

I know it’s just a saying and I know 50 years ago it probably made sense. But I can’t help wondering, have we really, as a society, evolved that much? Or are we, as women, still undermining ourselves? When we gossip about other women’s lifestyle and, full of morality, call them whores; when we notice that stretch mark and that cellulite patch that nobody else could see, or comment how much bigger she’s got since the last time we saw her; when we immediately conclude that if she got that big promotion she is definitely sleeping with her boss… and this could go on, and on, and on… Maybe we are still women behind the great men and it’s nobody else’s fault but our own.

great women

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

One comment

  1. First of all, I share your opinion on this matter.
    But the times have showed me that behind every great woman, there is also a great man. If you notice women on politics they have always a man that supports her just as women have done in the past for their “men”…
    But yes it is true, we are standing side by side!

    On the matter of women versus women, yes, we are our worse judges. We are more demanding on ourselves, our criticism is bigger and bitterer when it comes to other women. We are the first to undermine another woman, whether it is about jobs, or motherhood (you have no idea how fierce women can be about this matter… it would take me forever to explain), or the way you dress, you behave, your possesions, whatever…

    Like

Leave a Reply

