Good old new year’s resolutions

So here we are…another year has gone by… 2016 hun! If 10 years ago somebody told me I’d be living in Australia in 2016 I’d say they were nuts!!! And here I am, happily living down under!

Lately I have been feeling a little homesick. I lived in Lisbon for 12 years and loved that city! I was so happy in Lisbon… even when I wasn’t feeling that happy. So I made myself a desktop theme for my laptop computer with beautiful images of Lisbon that I found on ‘ze interwebs’!

lisboa

Now isn’t Lisbon an absolutely stunning city? (All photo credits to Armindo Ribeiro)

And of course, to get into the spirit, you have to look at these pictures with the appropriate soundtrack

This is a song by a Portuguese fado singer, Carlos do Carmo, about Lisbon. The chorus goes something like this

Lisbon little girl and young woman, little girl

from the light my eyes see so pure      

 your breasts are the hills, fishwife            

 preach that brings me to my door, tenderness                      

city embroidered with cross light                    

towel laid by the sea shore                                

Lisbon little girl and young woman, little girl                                                  

city woman of my life

I usually don’t like fado, but this is a beautiful poem and cheery song about a city I love! And I guess homesickness does that to you, you start liking things you didn’t like before…

But of course I cannot complain. Sydney is pretty amazing too…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How lucky am I to have shared both these cities in a single lifetime? 🙂

So the holidays are over and I’m back to work. Out of the 10 things I wanted to do before my holidays were over, I accomplished 6. I didn’t do any sewing (points 2 and 3), apart from the hems on my pants. I wasn’t on a sewing mood. And that’s fine! That’s what holidays are for, you should only do whatever you feel like! I also did not get the chance to go for a dip on the beach but I did get into a friend’s swimming pool. That should count, right? And I also did not complete the crochet certification because I am waiting for the syllabus.

I did, however, spend an AWESOME day at the Sydney Royal Botanical Gardens!!! Just me, my knitting and the December issue of Country Living Magazine!

botanic gardens.jpg

Awesome day at the Sydney Royal Botanic Garden!

As the year ends, it comes inevitably as a time for reflection of what was and planning (or wishful thinking!…) on what is to come. I hate the “New Years Resolution” cliche (just about as much as I hate any other cliche really…), but the truth is you always end up thinking of some kind of achievement to complete or life path to take on the year to come.

2016 promises to be a year of change. A change in career, a change in residence status, hopefully a house move… So I decided it would be a great year to bring change into the concept of The Knitting Scientist as well. I will now turn towards designing patterns (knitting, crochet and the occasional odd sewing pattern) and yarn suggestion. I feel the need to knit more for myself and I have a notebook filled with design ideas! But fear not my fellow nerd lovers!!! It will all be accompanied by the usual scent of science nerdiness that your dearest Knitting Scientist has accustomed you to!!!

Have you made any New Year’s Resolutions?

 

 

About The Knitting Scientist

I was born in a land where the sun shines bright, time passes by slowly and people take pride in what they do. My mom taught me my first stitches and I never put down my hook and needles again! Later I became a scientist, dwelling within the mysteries of life and the universe, using logic and analytic thinking, giving my humble contribution to human knowledge. Scientist during the day, knitter at night. Just like a super hero, creative hands on an analytic mind is my super power! That's me and this is my story lost among test tubes and balls of yarn!

Leave a comment